Industry’s beloved annual, Irish Racing Yearbook to sponsor Fishery Lane Hurdle at Naas

Naas Racecourse is delighted to announce the Irish Racing Yearbook as new sponsor of the Grade 3 Fishery Lane Hurdle, the feature event as the Kildare venue gets its jumps season under way live on TG4 on November 12.

The Irish Racing Yearbook Fishery Lane Hurdle is a two-mile contest that boasts a high-class roll of honour littered with Grade 1 performers, producing two future Champion Hurdle victors in the past decade alone.

The Jessica Harrington-trained Jezki scored in 2012 and Espoir D’Allen, who was trained by Gavin Cromwell, took the spoils six years later. Both were owned by JP McManus, who has also been victorious with Kitten Rock, from the Edward O’Grady yard, and the Joseph O’Brien-prepped Early Doors in recent times.
That triumph by Kitten Rock made O’Grady the most successful trainer with four successes but Gordon Elliott joined him at the top of the leaderboard when Teahupoo and Jack Kennedy made it three-in-a-row for the Cullentra House supremo last year.

To mark the link with Naas and the Fishery Lane Hurdle, all grooms leading up horses in the race will receive a voucher for a free copy of Irish Racing Yearbook 2023, which is due out on November 21.

The Irish Racing Yearbook is the definite annual chronicle of racing on these shores, covering the entire spectrum of the racing and thoroughbred industry in the form of interviews, profiles, analysis and more.

A collaboration of the best writers and photographers with the leading protagonists in all spheres from breeding to sales, from point-to-point to the racecourse, it has been a favourite stocking filler at Christmas for many years.

The cover story in Irish Racing Yearbook 2023 is an engaging, entertaining and enlightening interview with the four Mullins first cousins, Danny, David, Emmet and Patrick, while Rachael Blackmore, Aidan O’Brien, JP McManus, Billy Lee, Liz Lalor and Shark Hanlon are just a sample of those who have given in-depth interviews. Others featured include owner-breeders Moyglare Stud, the Aga Khan operation and Kirsten Rausing. Indeed a comprehensive thoroughbred breeding section extends to the digital publication, G1
Apart from the editorial calibre and visual feast, the Irish Racing Yearbook is revered by regular racing fans for the GO RACING vouchers kindly provided in conjunction with a variety of tracks around the country, including Naas, offering free admission to around 80 specific meetings throughout the year, at a total value of €1500.

With a pre-publication price available now of €24.75 (25% discount) and even at the retail price of €32.95 when the publication hits the shops next month, that represents significant value.

To avail of the discount go to
John Fleming, publisher of the Irish Racing Yearbook commented: “We have had another fabulous racing year and it is so great to emerge from Covid and witness a stellar racing year. We have a great team of writers and photographers led by Daragh Ó Conchúir, who work tirelessly to bring us a riveting and exciting read for Christmas and beyond. Again, we supplement all of this with our FREE GO RACING offers and other competitions and offers for racing fans everywhere.
“We are so pleased to work with Naas Racecourse and their proactive, hard-working team and to be associated with a race of such standing as the Fishery Lane Hurdle. It has a proven record now of producing top quality winners and we look forward to another high-class affair that will hopefully produce another elite performer, as it has done so often in the past.”

Eamonn McEvoy, manager of Naas Racecourse said: “We are delighted to welcome John Fleming on board with the Irish Racing Yearbook to sponsor the Grade 3 Fishery Lane Hurdle. It is a great publication that we all look forward to reading every year and this is a race deserving of a sponsor with hugely successful winners in the past, such as Espoir D'Allen and Jezki. We are looking forward to another exciting renewal on November 12.”

Naas will be running a competition on the day with some stellar prizes including a television and a year’s subscription to Racing TV up for grabs.  To enter the competition HERE 

View all Blogs and Press