Royal Ascot Trials Day at Naas once again offers loads of quality

Quality entries have been put forward for Sunday’s widely popular Royal Ascot Trials Day at Naas. Royal Ascot winners emerged from the last two renewals of the Group 3 Coolmore Stud Irish EBF Fillies Sprint Stakes and 14 entries go forward for this year’s renewal of the Naas race.

Course and distance winner Ribchestina, now trained by Paddy Twomey having won on debut for Sheila Lavery, is one of four previous winners in the potential line up, including the Alice Haynes-trained Ziggy’s Dream who was a runner-up at Chester last week.

Aidan O’Brien won the race last year with subsequent Albany Stakes winner Meditate but has no representation this year although his sons Joseph and Donnacha each seem to hold strong claims. The Joseph O’Brien-trained Bated Moon was a winner at Cork on debut earlier this month while Donnacha O’Brien’s Porta Fortuna impressed at the Curragh on her first outing.

A total of 18 three-year-olds are entered for the €55,000 Group 3 Goffs Lacken Stakes for which Aidan O’Brien’s The Antarctic will bid to win for the first time since this fixture last year. The son of Dark Angel is a Group 1 runner-up and could feature in a fascinating clash with the progressive Ocean Quest for Jessica Harrington and Joe Murphy’s hat-trick seeking Lord Massusus who won at Naas last time out.

Sheila Lavery’s stable star New Energy is the standout name in the Owenstown Stud Stakes over seven furlongs. The Irish 2,000 Guineas runner-up is among 21 acceptors for the listed contest which also features the aforementioned Lord Massusus and the Ger Lyons-trained Mutasarref who signed off last season with three consecutive wins.

Connections of many of the 14 entries for the Sole Power Sprint Stakes will be dreaming of Royal Ascot glory and British representation is very possible here also. Newmarket-based trainer Robert Cowell has made two entries, Arecibo and Clarendon House, while Karl Burke’s Fast Response and the Adrian Nicholls-trained Tees Spirit may also make the trip across the Irish Sea.

Ken Condon’s course and distance winner Moss Tucker would have a much shorter journey as she looks to back up her win at Naas last month for the Curragh-based trainer, while fellow Curragh-trained runners Ano Syra (Johnny Feane) and Ladies Church (Johnny Murtagh) add to the depth.

View all Blogs and Press